top of page

BSSSC Chairmanship

The Hamburg Chairmanship continued working on the sound basis which previous chairs created by their work. To ensure continuity, a Troika was established with the former chair Norway, which provided support in the initial phase, and the region of West Pomerania, Poland.

Previous presidencies


Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Hamburg is the metropolis of northern Germany and the gateway to both northern and eastern Europe. The city state of Hamburg is one of the Federal Republic of Germany’s 16 federal states.


With its 1.757 million inhabitants, it is also the second largest German city.

During the Hamburg Chairmanship BSSSC continued to act as a political network organisation open to all regions in the Baltic Sea area bringing added value to regional co-operation on every side of the Baltic Sea. BSSSC was a co-operation partner to other organisations in the Baltic Sea Region at the national, regional and local level and continued to advocate the views of sub-regions to national authorities and EU institutions. Furthermore, in its work BSSSC reflected topical developments and challenges.

The policy areas for the Hamburg Chairmanship were:

  • Science and Education

  • Co-operation in the Baltic Sea Strategy of the EU

  • Maritime Policy

  • Climate Change and Sustainable Development

  • Youth

  • Better use of EU Programmes for projects in the Baltic Sea Region

  • Public Health and Quality of Life

  • Co-operation with Russia

  • Transport and Infrastructure

BSSSC Chairman 2009-2010

Mr Carsten-Ludwig Lüdemann
State Secretary
Commissioner for Federal, European and
Foreign Affairs

bottom of page