top of page


Denmark is divided into five regions and a total of 98 municipalities. The regions were created on 1 January 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform to replace the country's traditional thirteen counties (amter).


The most important area of responsibility for the new regions is the national health service. Unlike the former counties, the regions are not allowed to levy taxes, and the health service is primarily financed by a national 8% (sundhedsbidrag) tax combined with funds from both government and municipalities. Each Regional Council consists of 41 elected politicians elected as part of the 2005 Danish municipal elections.


Most of the new municipalities have a population of at least 20,000 people, although a few exceptions were made to this rule. The Ertholmene archipelago is neither part of a municipality nor a region but belongs to the Ministry of Defence. Greenland and the Faroe Islands have autonomous status and are largely self-governing; each is represented by two seats in the parliament.


All 5 Danish regions are part of the BSSSC network.

Danish Regions

Contact person

Mr Asger Andreasen

bottom of page