A county  (maakond) is an administrative subdivision of Estonia. Estonia is divided into 15 counties.


The government of each county is led by a county governor, who represents the national government at the regional level. Governors are appointed by the government for a term of five years. Each county is further divided into municipalities which are of two types: urban municipality, or town (linn), and rural municipality, or parish (vald).


All Estonian counties are part of the BSSSC network. They are represented by the Association of Estonian Cities and Association of Estonian Municipalities.

Association of Estonian Cities 

Contact person

Mr Toivo Riimaa

BSSSC Secretariat


Pomorskie Voivodeship

ul. Okopowa 21/27

80-810 Gdańsk


  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
Contact us

+48 58 32 68 702

+48 58 32 68 313

Quick links

The Secretariat



Follow us