top of page


Vidzeme Planning Region

Contact person

Ms Laila Gercāne

Head of Development and Projects department,

According to the Administrative territorial reform of Latvia, Latvia changed its administrative divisions from two-level municipalities (towns, cities, towns countryside territories and parishes were the first level, districts were the second level municipalities) to one-level municipalities - districts were liquidated, but towns (pilsētas), towns countryside territories (pilsētu lauku teritorijas) and parishes (pagasti) were merged into 109 municipalities (novadi).


Nine republican cities (republikas pilsētas) also have their own city council and administration.

There are five planning regions in Latvia and they work towards development of the regions and their belonging municipalities. Interests of Latvian regions are on the agenda of BSSSC, as they are represented by Vidzeme Planning Region.  

bottom of page