top of page


Sweden has three levels of government: national, regional and local. The Riksdag (Swedish parliament) has legislative powers.


The Government implements decisions taken by the Riksdag and is assisted in its work by the Government Offices, comprising a number of ministries, and some 300 central government agencies and public administrations. At the regional level, Sweden is divided into 21 counties. The political tasks at this level are carried out by the county councils and regions, whose decision-makers are directly elected by the people of the county, and by the county administrative boards which are government bodies in the counties. Sweden is divided into 290 municipalities. Each municipality has an elected assembly, the municipal council, which takes decisions on municipal matters. Sweden has approximately 9.8 million inhabitans, and the capital is Stockholm.

All Swedish regions are a part of the BSSSC network.

bottom of page