top of page
The Baltic Sea States Subregional Co-operation (BSSSC) [correctly pronounced: B·triple-S·C] is a political network for decentralised authorities (subregions) in the Baltic Sea Region. 


The organisation was founded in Stavanger, Norway, in 1993. Its participants are regional authorities (level directly below the national level authorities) of the 9 Baltic Sea littoral states: Germany, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia.

The BSSSC is a political network whose main organisational bodies are: the Chairperson (elected by the Board on a rotational basis for a two-year period), the Board consisting of two representatives of each of the BSR countries, the Secretariat, that follows the Chairperson and ad hoc working groups. The main BSSSC event is the annual conference held each year in early autumn (September - October).

The BSSSC co-operates closely with other key Baltic Sea Region and European organisations and institutions. The BSSSC has renewed its Declaration of Common Interest with the Committee of the Regions in 2012 and opens its network for other BSR organisations on local and regional level to become participants (B7, UBC). 

» About
Vision 2030

BSSSC Vision 2030

To facilitate dialogue, partnerships and strengthen interregional cooperation in line with the SDGs - creating a more sustainable, better accessible and more prosperous Baltic Sea Region (BSR) – putting local and regional policy makers and the young generation at the heart of its work.  

Policy areas towards 2030

  Cohesion policy and programmes – in particular Interreg - 2021 – 2027 and beyond (SDGs: 10, 16, 17)
 Environment, climate, energy and circular economy (SDGs: 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) 
Transport and accessibility – transport corridors and clean transport (SDG 9, 11) 
Culture and creativity (SDGs: 8, 11)
Youth involvement and empowerment – supporting the establishment of a One Youth Platform (SDGs: 4, 10, 16)
Maritime policy - Blue Economy and protection of the marine environment (SDGs: 8, 9, 14) 
» Priorities
bottom of page